Find Posts By Topic

International Special Review District Board announces

The annual election for the International Special Review District Board was held on Tuesday, November 15, 2011. Three positions were up for election this year.

The results are as follows: Joann Ware won Position #1 for a District business person, property owner or employee.  Marvin Rosete won Position #2 for resident, tenant or community participant. And Ching Chan won Position #4 for a resident, tenant or community participant. New Board members Ms. Ware and Ms. Chan will begin their terms in December. Mr. Rosete will serve his second term beginning in December.                                                                                                                                    

The special character of the Chinatown International District is recognized and protected by city ordinance.  In 1973, the International Special Review District Board was created to preserve, protect and enhance the cultural, economic and historical qualities of the District.  The Board is composed of seven members – five elected by the Chinatown International District community and two appointed by the Mayor.  Board members’ terms are for two years and members may serve up to two consecutive terms.

The current board members are Brien Chow, Misun Chung Gerrick, Bill Lee (Vice-chair), Rich Murakami (Chair), Josh Osborne-Klein, Julia Park, and Marvin Rosete.

The International Special Review District is coordinated by the Seattle Department of Neighborhoods Historic Preservation ProgramSeattle Department of Neighborhoods provides programs and services that engage residents in civic participation, foster stronger communities, make government more accessible, and preserve and enhance the character of Seattle’s neighborhoods.  For more information, call 206-684-0464.