Find Posts By Topic

International Special Review District Board Announces Annual Election Results

The annual election for the International Special Review District Board was held on Tuesday, November 19. Three positions were up for election this year and the results are as follows:

  • Joann Ware won Position #1 for a District business person, property owner or employee. 
  • Ben Grace won Position #2 for a resident, tenant, or community participant.
  • Carol Leong won Position #4 for a resident, tenant or community participant.

Ms. Ware will begin serving a second term, and new Board members Mr. Grace and Ms. Leong will begin their terms starting in December.                                                                                                                         

The special character of the Chinatown International District is recognized and protected by city ordinance.  In 1973, the International Special Review District Board was created to preserve, protect and enhance the cultural, economic and historical qualities of the District. The Board is composed of seven members — five elected by the Chinatown International District community and two appointed by the Mayor. Board members’ terms are for two years, and members may serve up to two consecutive terms.

The current board members are Candace Chin, Ben Grace, Carol Leong, Miye Moriguchi, Martha Rogers, and Joann Ware. There is a current vacancy. Outgoing board members are Ching Chan and Marvin Rosete.

The International Special Review District is coordinated by the Seattle Department of Neighborhoods Historic Preservation Program which is responsible for the designation and protection of more than 400 historic structures, sites, objects, and vessels, as well as eight historic districts located throughout the city.