Find Posts By Topic

International Special Review District announces preliminary results of annual board election

courtesy of Imgur

The annual election for the International Special Review District Board was held on Tuesday, November 19 with 160 ballots cast. Three positions were up for election this year, and the preliminary results are as follows:

  • Russ Williams won Position #1 for a Business owner, Property owner or Employee.
  • Matt Chan won Position #2 for Resident, Tenant or Community Participant.
  • M. Faye Hong won Position #4 for Resident, Tenant or Community Participant.

On November 26, the Seattle Department of Neighborhoods’ (DON) director Andres Mantilla received a challenge of the election results within the seven-day challenge period following the election (as allowed in the ISRD Board Election Procedures). Given the complexity and seriousness of the challenge, DON will be consulting with community members, staff, and City Attorney’s Office next week to discuss next steps in response to the challenge.

The special character of the Chinatown International District is recognized and protected by city ordinance. In 1973, the International Special Review District Board was created to preserve, protect and enhance the cultural, economic and historical qualities of the District. The Board is composed of seven members – five elected by the Chinatown International District community and two appointed by the Mayor. Board members’ terms are for two years, and members may serve up to two consecutive terms.

The current board members are Stephanie Hsie (Chair), Sergio Legon-Talamoni, Yuko Kunugi, Russ Williams, Tanya Woo and Andy Yip (Vice-Chair). There is one vacancy on the Board awaiting Mayoral appointment. The terms for Ms. Woo, Mr. Williams and Ms. Kunugi end in November 30, 2019.