Find Posts By Topic

International Special Review District Board announces annual election results

SEATTLE – The annual election for the International Special Review District Board was held on Tuesday, November 17, 2009. Three positions were up for election this year.

The results are as follows: Brien Chow won Position #1 for a District business person, property owner or employee. Marvin Rosete won Position #2 for a resident, tenant or community participant, and Josh Osborne-Klein was re-elected in Position #4 for a resident, tenant or community participant. New Board members Messrs. Chow and Rosete will begin their terms in December. Mr. Osborne-Klein will serve his second term beginning in December.

The special character of the International District is recognized and protected by City Ordinance. In 1973, the International Special Review District Board was created to preserve, protect and enhance the cultural, economic and historical qualities of the District. The Board is composed of seven members – five elected by the International District community and two appointed by the Mayor. Board members’ terms are for two years and members may serve up to two consecutive terms.

The current board members are John Bisbee, Weng Chan, Misun Chung Gerrick (vice-chair), Robert Ha (chair), Bill Lee, Rich Murakami and Josh Osborne-Klein.

The International Special Review District is coordinated by the Department of Neighborhoods Historic Preservation Division. The Seattle Department of Neighborhoods works to bring government closer to our residents through civic engagement, community empowerment and involvement by all residents for the betterment of their community. For more information, call 206-684-0464.