Find Posts By Topic

International Special Review District announces results of annual election

The annual election for the International Special Review District Board was held on Tuesday, November 20. Two positions were up for election this year, and the results are as follows:

  • Tim Lee won Position #3 for a Business owner, Property owner or Employee
  • Andy Yip won Position #5 for At-Large

The newly elected candidates will start their first terms in December.

The special character of the Chinatown International District is recognized and protected by city ordinance.  In 1973, the International Special Review District Board was created to preserve, protect and enhance the cultural, economic and historical qualities of the District. The Board is composed of seven members – five elected by the Chinatown International District community and two appointed by the Mayor. Board members’ terms are for two years, and members may serve up to two consecutive terms.

The current board members are Eliza Chan, Stephanie Hsie (Vice-Chair), Sergio Legon-Talamoni, Tiernan Martin (Chair) and Russ Williams. There are currently two vacant seats, awaiting reappointment. The terms for Ms. Chan and Mr. Martin end in November 2018.

The International Special Review District is coordinated by the Seattle Department of Neighborhoods Historic Preservation Program which is responsible for the designation and protection of more than 400 historic structures, sites, objects, and vessels, as well as eight historic districts located throughout the city.