Find Posts By Topic

Mayor Harrell seeks members for the Landmarks Preservation Board Architect position

Mayor Bruce Harrell is seeking a new member to serve on the Landmarks Preservation Board in the Architect position. The 12-member Landmarks Preservation Board makes recommendations to Seattle City Council for landmark designation, and reviews proposed alterations to designated features of landmark properties.

The Board is composed of two architects; two historians; one structural engineer; one representative each from the fields of urban planning, real estate, and finance; a Get Engaged member (a position for ages 18-29); and three members at-large. All appointments are made by the Mayor and subject to City Council confirmation.

Board meetings are held on the first and third Wednesdays of each month at 3:30 pm. In general, board members must commit approximately 10 hours per month to Landmarks Board business. The Board’s Architectural Review Committee (ARC) meets on the Friday before the Board meeting at 8:30am, and all Board members are encouraged to attend. This position is a 3-year term. Interested applicants must be Seattle area residents. Board members serve without compensation.

If you are interested in being considered, please submit a letter of interest and a resume by Monday, November 28th.

Please email your letter and resume to:

(reference the Landmarks Preservation Board position in the subject line)

Electronic submissions are preferred, if possible. To submit a paper copy, please address: Erin Doherty, Landmarks Preservation Board Coordinator, Seattle Department of Neighborhoods, PO Box 94649, Seattle, WA 98124-4649. For more information, contact Erin Doherty at (206) 684-0380.

The City of Seattle is committed to promoting diversity in the city’s boards and commissions. Women, persons with disabilities, sexual and gender minorities, young persons, senior citizens, persons of color, and immigrants are encouraged to apply.

Seattle Department of Neighborhoods Historic Preservation Program is responsible for the designation and protection of more than 400 historic structures, sites, objects, and vessels, along with eight historic districts located throughout the city.