Find Posts By Topic

International Special Review District Board Announces Results of Annual Election

Chinatown - International District

Photo: Curtis Cronn

The annual election for the International Special Review District Board was held on Tuesday, November 15. Two positions were up for election this year, and the results are as follows:

  • Eliza Chan won Position #3 for a Business owner, Property owner or Employee.
  • Tiernan Martin won Position #5 for At-large.

Starting in December, Ms. Chan will begin her first term, and Mr. Martin will begin serving his second term.

The special character of the Chinatown International District is recognized and protected by city ordinance. In 1973, the International Special Review District Board was created to preserve, protect and enhance the cultural, economic and historical qualities of the District. The Board is composed of seven members — five elected by the Chinatown International District community and two appointed by the Mayor. Board members’ terms are for two years, and members may serve up to two consecutive terms.

The current board members are Stephanie Hsie, Carol Leong, Tiernan Martin (Vice-Chair), Miye Moriguchi (Chair), Herman Setijono, Valerie Tran, and Marie Wong. The terms for Mr. Martin and Ms. Wong end November 2016.

The International Special Review District is coordinated by the Seattle Department of Neighborhoods Historic Preservation Program which is responsible for the designation and protection of more than 400 historic structures, sites, objects, and vessels, as well as eight historic districts located throughout the city.